top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Sturm

Riding the Waves

Updated: May 9, 2019

I work as a school counselor with grades K-8th. Books are one of my favorite tools to use with students. They have a special way of opening doors to conversations. Because of this, I've read a great deal of children's literature.

Several years ago I had an idea for my own children's book. Not sure how to pursue it at the time I quietly tucked it back into my pocket and only pulled it out occasionally. But as luck would have it I crossed paths with a local author and the wheels started turning again. I found an editor, an illustrator and I got back to work on my manuscript. The thought of actually putting my book out there was so exciting! Every time someone showed interest in my book I was thrilled and with each new illustration, it felt like Christmas morning all over again. But the flip side to all that was when I didn't get the response I expected I would feel deflated and that dastardly villain, doubt would try to creep in. Then I realized I was falling into the same trap I'm always warning my students about, those pesky dopamine hits! From what I can tell everyone questions their work from time to time, it's just human nature. So I just have to keep in mind that writing is like riding the waves. Some days are smooth as glass and some days it will be rough and wild, but that's what makes it an adventure. As I go forward, I just have to remind myself of who I am and where I am in this process, and after that all I can do is take a deep breath and dive in!


15 views0 comments
bottom of page